North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)


North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) established a free-trade zone in North America; it was signed in 1992 by Canada, Mexico, and the United States and took effect on Jan. 1, 1994. NAFTA immediately lifted tariffs on the majority of goods produced by the signatory nations. It also calls for the gradual elimination, over a period of 15 years, of most remaining barriers to cross-border investment and to the movement of goods and services among the three countries. NAFTA facilitates temporary entry for business persons who are citizens of the U.S., Mexico and Canada and who are involved in the trade of goods or services, or in investment activities.

Business persons grouped under four categories:

  Business visitors
  Intra-company transferees
  Traders and investors

The following are the general requirements to qualify for ICT

  Employed by the international company and looking to enter Canada in a parent or affiliate of that company
  You have been continuously employed with the company from past one year in the last three-year period
  You have been employed with the company and will be transferred to continue relationship with the company
  You are being transferred in a senior level position or specialized knowledge capacity
  You will be working in the company and entering Canada only temporarily

Frequently Asked Questions

The Comprehensive Ranking System is a points-based system used to assess and score a candidate's profile to rank them in the Express Entry pool. Points are awarded for factors including age, education, language proficiency in English or French, work experience (both in Canada and internationally), and other factors. The higher the score, the better the chances of receiving an Invitation to Apply (ITA) for permanent residency.