Express Entry

Express Entry

Express Entry

Overview For Express Entry

Canada’s Express Entry program is a comprehensive immigration system that enables skilled immigrants to gain permanent residency in the country. The Express Entry system operates on a points-based system, known as the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS), which assesses an applicant’s skills, education, language proficiency, and work experience. Candidates with the highest CRS scores receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) for permanent residency in Canada.

The Express Entry program has become a popular pathway to permanent residency for skilled immigrants, with over 100,000 individuals being granted permanent residency through the program every year. The system is designed to streamline the immigration process and prioritize candidates who are most likely to succeed in the Canadian workforce.

The program comprises three different streams, each tailored to specific backgrounds and experiences of individuals seeking permanent residence in Canada.

Canadian Experience (CEC) Class

The first stream, the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) stream of Canada's Express Entry program, is ideal for those who are currently living or have previously lived and worked in Canada. To qualify for the Canadian Experience Class (CEC), applicants must have at least one year of skilled work experience in Canada, and must demonstrate proficiency in English or in French.

Multiracial teen high school students group class portrait with teacher looking at camera.

Federal Skilled Worker (FSW) Class

The second stream, the Federal Skilled Worker (FSW) program, targets skilled immigrants with foreign work experience. To be eligible for the FSW program, applicants must have at least one year of work experience in a skilled occupation, meet the minimum language proficiency requirements, and have the necessary education and credentials to succeed in the Canadian workforce.

Express Entry - Federal Skilled Worker

Federal Skilled Trades (FST) Class

The third stream, the Federal Skilled Trades Program (FST) provides a pathway to permanent residency, mainly for those with a record of skilled work experience in certain trades. To qualify for the Federal Skilled Trades program, applicants must have at least two years of work experience in a skilled trade and meet the minimum language and education requirements.